Design Project: January Implementation

Standard

As I was saying in my last post, after working on my design project for some time, I’ve been eager to make these plans happen and test my solutions.

For January, the implementation plan scheduled:

  1. Set up herb planters
  2. Establish guild for avocado tree
  3. Install fairy lights on garden arch
  4. Patio cover quotes

So what happened?

I put together a Herb Planter Guide to plan herb functions and care, and do a rough positioning guide to eventually have my version of a herb spiral in a Stack-a-pot near the kitchen. I planted marigold, thyme and chives seeds in little pots for the herb planter and watched them grow in the kitchen window.

Chives seeds planted

Chives seeds planted

Marigold and thyme seeds

Marigold and thyme seeds

I spent a lot of time watering tomato plants.

Big red tomato plants

Big red tomato plants

I took Miss Z on a trip to Kinglake Raspberries to pick berries from the source.

Raspberry picking

Raspberry picking

We had a family trip to Rain, Hayne and Shine farm

Happy as a pig in the mud

Happy as a pig in the mud

I had a gift from putting down compost around the garden arch – pumpkin plants grew!

Pumpkin plants grew from the compost

Pumpkin plants grew from the compost

Pumpkin plants grew on both sides of the garden arch

Pumpkin plants grew on both sides of the garden arch

Patio cover builders are busy/unavailable in January.

What I learnt from that

Plant more seeds than you want as plants as they don’t all germinate. Also, seeds can take a while to germinate, and then to grow to a transplantable size. Plant seeds regularly and maybe figure out where to put them later if you grow more of them than expected.  I’m such a planner, I almost can’t believe I just said that.

Tomato plants seemed to do better with a watering every other day, but with some shade from the afternoon sun. Ours had no shade from the afternoon sun, so I kept watering them as they looked like they suffered on a few occasions.

Yeah, the tomato plants copped a bit too much sun

Yeah, the tomato plants copped a bit too much sun

Holidays are awesome and take them when you can.

Don’t plan work with tradespeople in January unless you already know they are working then.

What about the plan?

Overall, work was in progress but I wasn’t able to update the status to done, unfortunately.  Still according to the Permaculture Principles, I shouldn’t be too hard on myself.  Principle #12 is creatively use and respond to change, and my family benefitted from holidays and trips instead of having patio cover quotes.

Leave a Reply

